Big Shout Out Awards

It’s our annual celebration of the “who’s who” of Big Brothers Big Sisters of Ottawa.

The Big Shout Out awards celebration is our opportunity to celebrate our mentoring relationships and recognize our community of supporters.

It was wonderful to be back in person at Ben Franklin Place for the 2021 Big Shout Out Awards on May 2, 2022.

Photos by Matt Stewart Photos

Congratulations to our 2021 winners!

Start Something Big! Award ~ TD Bank Group

Lois Allen Mentor of the Year Award (Ottawa) ~ Sam Armstrong
Lois Allen Mentor of the Year Award (Renfrew County) ~ Jennnifer Austin

Pay It Forward Awards ~ Jemma, Jeremy, Josh, Maya, Ella, Owen

Gratitude Award (Ottawa) ~ Gabriel de Varennes of De Varennes Real Estate Group
Gratitude Award (Renfrew County) ~ Pembroke Business Improvement Area

Norm McEwen In-School Mentor of Year Award ~ Katiana Pocklington

Community Volunteer of the Year Award ~ Tiffany Tambeau

School of the Year Award ~ St. Cecelia

Outstanding School Liaison of the Year Awards ~ Ruth Peddle, St. Luke (Barrhaven); Kim Shiau, Vincent Massey; Christina McRae, Alta Vista Elementary School; Ruth McNulty, St, Joe’s Calabogie School

Outstanding Placement Student Award (Ottawa) ~ Rachel Hiemstra
Outstanding Placement Student Award (Renfrew County) ~ Napatsie Lucassie

Special thank you to our hosts Brian Hepburn and Little Emmett and award presenters: Mark Zekulin, BBBSO Board Chair; Keith Egli, BBBSO Vice-Chair; Emily Villeneuve, BBBSO Past Chair; Tom D’Amico, Director of Education at the Ottawa Catholic School Board; Susan Ingram, BBBSO Executive Director; Mary Jane Manley, BBBSO Supporter; and BBBSO staff members Christine Gillard, Stephanie Chretien-Gaudreau, Monique Flocco, Amanda Wilson, and Olivia Rebelo.